Brady Class of 2023

There are 525,600 minutes in one year and after 13 years of school, Brady High School’s Class of 2023 has counted down to the 113,880th hour. After a freshman year interrupted by the Covid pandemic, sicknesses, injuries, tears, laughter, and the forging of unbreakable bonds, these 14 seniors crossed the stage at Brady High School on Saturday, May 13 to receive their diplomas.

The class of 2023 consisted of Dominic Achenbach, Harley Bartels, Simone Britt, Cameron Carr, Sierra Carr, Robin Davis, Olivia Gentry, Elsie Golter, Levi Jurjens, Blake Lusk, Summer McConville, Brock Miller, Dillon Miller, and Makenna Ruppert.

Class officers were Davis (President), Lusk (Vice President), Cameron Carr (Treasurer), and Britt (secretary). Junior attendants were Addyson Christner and Zada Earll. Junior Ushers were Joel Miller and Rylie Shirk.

Superintendent James McGown said goodbye to his last graduating class at Brady High School, accompanied by principal Janet Brown. Along with the two administrators were the Board of Education, who helped present the graduates with their diplomas. The Board of Education members were Ryan Stearns (President), Marge Spencer (Vice President), Tina Golter (Secretary), Bryan Franzen, Sara Gentry, and Necole Miller.

Lusk kicked off the ceremony with the invocation, followed by a welcome by McGown. The Valedictorian Address was given by Davis who shared some of her favorite high school memories and how close she and her 13 other classmates had become over the years.

McConville was the 2023 Salutatorian and presented her own speech after Davis. A special video presentation and the presentation of white roses to family members of the graduates took place after the Salutatorian Address, align with the reading of awarded scholarships.

The ceremony ended with a benediction by Brock Miller. The majority of the class will be pursuing further education while others will enter the workforce or military branches. Sierra Carr enlisted in the US Army before graduating and will be shipping out soon, she wore a special sash indicating her future service.

Despite having accumulated 113,880 hours of education, this class is a class of achievers and each one of them has plans to dedicate even more hours to the study of their future careers, whether that be by attending college or jumping right into their chosen field. Way to go, Class of 2023. You did it!

Scholarships awarded to the Class of 2023 are as follows:

Dominic Achenbach - Interhigh Day Scholarship

Harley Bartels - Home Agency Scholarship

Simone Britt - Husker Power Scholarship

Cameron Carr - Darrell L. Johnson Scholarship, Talon Booster Club Scholarship

Olivia Gentry - Darrell L. Johnson Scholarship

Levi Jurjens - Nebraska Career Scholarship

Blake Lusk - Darrell L. Johnson Scholarship, Haven and Virginia Smith Scholarship, Academic Opportunity Central Community College Scholarship, John and Sonia Sahling Scholarship, Ruth E. Bliss Memorial Scholarship

Summer McConville - Returning Mid-Plains Academic 50% Tuition Scholarship, John and Mary Hunter Academic Scholarship, Darrell L. Johnson Scholarship, Consolidated Communications Scholarship, Flatwater Bank Financial Achiever Scholarship.

Dillon Miller - Ridenour Basketball Scholarship, Darrell L. Johnson Scholarship, Lloyd and Delores Gengenbach Scholarship