Board elects officers and discuss new superintendent search

 The Gothenburg school board was thanked by the school administrators and elementary students at Monday’s board meeting. From left are Kelly Terrell, Devin Brundage, Jon Hudson, Kyle Fornoff, Becky Jobman and Nate Wyatt. January is School Board Appreciation Month

The Gothenburg Board of Education began their January monthly meeting by voting on officers for 2022, and no changes were made. Nate Wyatt will once again serve as president with Becky Jobman, vice president, and Kyle Fornoff, secretary.

With that formality out of the way it was time to get down to the business at hand, and the Jan. 20 agenda did not have many action or discussion items to deal with. The one discussion item was in regards to the search for a new superintendent.

The board accepted the resignation of Dr. Todd Rhodes during a special meeting on Dec. 22 at which Rhodes announced he had accepted a position as superintendent at North Platte Public Schools. School board members then met with Shari Becker from the Nebraska Association of School Boards on Jan. 3 to discuss beginning the search process. Board members Nate Wyatt, Jon Hudson and Kyle Fornoff will serve on a committee moving forward with the search. Wyatt said with the timeline in place he is hopeful a contract will be offered and accepted, and the new superintendent announced at the February board meeting.

The board did take action in approving a contract with the architectural firm Hewgley and Associates for the completion of an audit of the school facilities and consequently putting together a 5-year capital improvement plan. The board also approved a request to amend the 2021-22 school calendar. Activities Director Marc Mroczek explained that Gothenburg has agreed to be the host site for a girls’ state wrestling district meet on Friday, Feb. 4, and with the start time of the meet he asked for a 1:30 dismissal that day.

In an additional organizational matter done during the first meeting of the year board members were appointed to serve on standing committees. Those include: Personnel - Kyle Fornoff (chair), Kelly Terrell and Becky Jobman; Committee on American Civics - Devin Brundage (chair), Fornoff and Terrell; Transportation and Facilities - Wyatt (chair), Hudson and Brundage; Finance - Jobman (chair), Wyatt and Hudson; Policy - Terrell (chair), Fornoff and Wyatt.

The next meeting of the school board will be Monday, Feb. 14 at noon.

Contact Ellen Mortensen at or call 308.537.9498