The 74th Annual Dawson County 4-H Achievement Barbecue was held Oct. 27 at the Lexington Middle School, with 158 members, parents and leaders in attendance.

Gothenburg was well represented in the awards ceremony for 4-H leaders, members and supporters who were recognized for their work throughout the year.

The Outstanding 4-H Member service award, sponsored by Nebraska Farm Bureau, was presented to Savannah Peterson. Helene Keiser was chosen to receive the Outstanding Junior Leader award, given in memory of Melvin Marshall.

Medals for excellence in several project areas were awarded to Helene Keiser – beef, horse, and public speaking; Breckyn Gibbens – rabbits; Andrew Kreuscher – home environment, and photography; and Hayden Russman – swine.

Winners of the Jack Reed Memorial Judging trophies included Heath Keiser, Top Senior Livestock Judge.

Tessa Carter received a 4-H Good Start Award. Recipients of National 4-H Congress $25 cash awards sponsored by Dawson County Farm Bureau included Andrew Kreuscher. National 4-H Congress nominees included Andrew Kreuscher and Hayden Russman.

National 4-H Conference nominees who received Achievement Application medals included Helene Keiser, Emma Peterson and Savannah Peterson.

Three-, five- and 10-year 4-H members were recognized. Thirty-two 4-H members received their three-year pins, and 23 members received their five-year pins. Heath Keiser and Jonathon Lauer both earned 10-year pins.

Kim Russman of Gothenburg was recognized for five years as a 4-H leader. In the 4-H Council election, Ross Wahlgren and Shannon Peterson were elected for three-year terms. Bruce Treffer presented a Service Certificate to retiring 4-H Council member Paul Peterson in appreciation for his contribution to the 4-H program.

Contact Ellen Mortensen at or call 308.536.6499